John Clarke (2024)

John Clarke has been involved in the St. John’s music scene for over two decades in many capacities. He has played dobro and guitar in various bands in genres from bluegrass to blues. In recent years, he has been a consistent sideman to late local blues legend Denis Parker. From 2008 to 2024, John served as Events Coordinator for the Folk Arts Society of Newfoundland and Labrador.

Not only did he coordinate the organizations’ annual flagship event for the past 15 years, The Newfoundland and Labrador Folk Festival, he programmed and managed almost 800 Folk Night at the Ship, 15 annual Wassail events, Young Folk at the Hall (assisting Fergus O’Byrne), and The Broadside, a folk music live stream which runs in The Festival off season. Folk Night and The Broadside are both weekly events.

Above all, John has taken a special interest in helping young musicians, making room for them in the local industry. He works with partners, such as the City of St. John’s to program “young folk”, oversees the programming for the Neil Murray stage at The Festival.

John Clarke’s love and enthusiasm for music and community is evident through everything he does, whether it’s setting up chairs at Folk Night, stage-managing Young Folk at the Hall, making every effort to encourage young musicians, whether it be writing a reference letter, or being part of the audience at their gigs. He is the quintessential “sideman” to the music scene in Newfoundand/Labrador.

Join us to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the Canadian Folk Music Awards, in the Nation's Capital, Ottawa, Ontario!

Canadian Folk Music Awards
71 Markland Cres.,
Ottawa Ontario K2G5Z6

CFMA is a registered non-profit organization, and gratefully accepts donations to support our operations.

CRA Number : 827183542RC0001

The Board, Staff, and Volunteers at the Canadian Folk Music Awards acknowledge that we live, work, meet and travel on the traditional territories of Indigenous Peoples that have cared for this land, now called Canada, since time immemorial. These lands are either subject to First Nations self-government under modern treaty, unceded and un-surrendered territories, or traditional territories from which First Nations, Métis and Inuit Peoples have been displaced.